Time to Think

16 02 2007

If you read history you will find that the Christians who did most for the present world were precisely those who thought most of the next. It is since Christians have largely ceased to think of the other world that they have become so ineffective in this.C. S. Lewis 

What do Christians think about? Perhaps a better question is, do Christians think? It seems we are losing the ability to do so these days. Although technically speaking I suppose one never stops thinking in the sense of some type of thoughts passing through the mind. The fact is, much of our modern technology keeps us from thinking. Take the internet, for example. It is remarkable. I enjoy and appreciate the almost instant access to information it provides. But I’ve also noticed if I’m not careful I can spend more time browsing the thoughts of others then thinking for myself.   Sadly, as I type this the television is streaming a steady flow of up-to-the-minute news that keeps drawing my attention away. Once again, there is nothing wrong with watching the news, but it never stops. It runs one story on top of another. Before I can begin to think about the deeper meaning the last news segment might hold I’m given a new one to take its place. 

I know what you’re thinking… just turn it off! Yes, I know. But then out comes the Ipod or radio or Xbox or something else. It takes more and more of our time and… sorry, got to go… the cell phone is ringing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

