Christian Bashing

23 04 2007

christian-flag-waving-155077.jpgI don’t like it when people bash America. There are many things wrong with my country, that I don’t deny. And there are many things I’d like to change, but I’m still proud to be called an American. 

I don’t like it when people bash Texas, my home state. A lot of people seem to hate Texas or maybe just Texans. Nevertheless, I’m still proud to be called a Texan. 

But most of all don’t like it when people bash Christians. I’ve come to expect it from the secular media and such. But what I cannot understand is the current epidemic of Christians who bash Christians. I mean they openly disavow the very word “Christian.” They preach against being a Christian or at least being called a Christian. They literally teach their people to “not be Christians” but instead to be “followers” or “disciples.” How sad.  It seems they are comfortable attaching everything they don’t like about church, religion, and Christianity to the word “Christian,” while at the same time pulling everything positive and proper out of Christianity and attaching it to a preferred title like “follower” or whatever.  

Now, I really don’t mind if you want to call yourself a “follower of Jesus” or anything else, but please don’t bash the universally recognized title of those who have followed Christ for almost two thousand years. It denigrates every true believer.       

As for me, I’m still proud to be called an American, a Texan, and a Christian.

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 04 2007
eltower

Presumably the First Amendment grants them this right, regardless of the age of the faith involved?

After all, freedom of speech protects your right to invoke your opinion, especially if this is an opinion which disagrees with someone else’s ideas – religion should not be protected against this kind of discussion or you might as well chuck the rest of the Bill of Rights out the window.

23 04 2007
kclick

I’m not questioning the right of someone to say these things, just whether it is the right thing to say.

-Squint

23 04 2007
dionysius

The problem is that so many high profile Christians say and do things that are very contrary to the teachings of Jesus. These people are very outspoken and very visible and they become identified by the world as The Christians. This leads other Christians who don’t share their ideas to want to be known as “Christ Followers” or some other different designation. I am a Christian and I try to follow Christ, but some the antics of the religious right get to be pretty outrageous.

23 04 2007
ronklabunde

Dionysius,

I’m with you on your thought here bro.

24 04 2007
kclick

Let me say it again because my point seems to have been lost…

“I really don’t mind if you want to call yourself a ‘follower of Jesus’ or anything else, but please don’t bash the universally recognized title of those who have followed Christ for almost two thousand years. It denigrates every true believer.”

25 04 2007
Marcia

Yeah, what Dionysius said.

Leave a Reply

