Last Days Revival?

26 11 2007

questionface.jpgMost people I talk with believe we are living in the last days. By that they mean they believe the return of the Lord is near and the apocalyptic prophecies are about to be fulfilled.

 On the other hand, there are some who believe we are on the verge of a global reformation. They see a new grass-roots movement sweeping away the errors of the institutional church and ushering in a return to the forgotten ways of true New Testament Christianity.

The problem is, if we are about to enter the last days scenario, the Bible does not seem to predict a great sweeping revival accompanying that period.

Perhaps I’m wrong… but doesn’t the Bible say that those days will be characterized by selfishness, apostasy, and a dislike for sound doctrine?

How do you see it?

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 11 2007
jonathon smith

I struggle with this too. I find that I struggle with it more when I start seeing the world through the eyes of America. The problem is that the rest of the world is not like it is in America. Check out the Joshuaproject.net. There are areas of the world where millions are coming to Christ. The bible does say that before the end comes the gospel will be published in all the world. We aren’t there yet. When did the doctrine of imminent return become popular? I think it was less than a hundred years ago. I think that in the end times there will be a large number of people being saved but they will not endure sound doctrine and the “falling away” is the decline of churches. So you have lots of people being saved but the churches in decline. That’s just my opinion.

30 11 2007
Kimberly

My feelings on this is are as follows:

1) We have the internet. In a sense this blog is published in all the world. Churches have websites. These websites are published in all the world. (Also, where exactly is this mentioned in the Bible. I would like to study that scripture more in-depth). Now I understand not everyone has access to the internet, but are we limiting God by saying that the gospel must be “published” in all the world in order for his word to reach people? hmmmmm

2) I have personally witnessed through other blog sites the falling away or dislike from sound doctrine and selfishness. This has been heartbreaking for me. I never in my life thought I would witness certain preachers say they are “men called of God” and yet turn to worldly ways to either “fit in” or twist the scripture to accomodate their life style rather than change their life style to live by the scripture.

3) A growing concern that I have is not standing on the KJV only. If we use other versions to be accomodating to the “growing majority” are we really standing for God’s word. Please don’t misunderstand my thoughts on this. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I did an extensive study on why I believe that the KJV is the best version for Christians to live and study by. I had been raised to believe the KJV should be the only bible I carry, but never really knew why. I now feel confident that it is the best and only translation for me and really fear for anyone who uses these other “watered down” versions.

4) I do believe we are nearing the end of time. Everyday we are hearing horrible things on the news…great fires, children starving, earthquakes, tornadoes, cyclones, hurricanes, massacres, children murdered….not to mention how common abortion, same sex relationships have become. It is sickening the way the gays and lesbians have come to be so widely accepted. Why should it be acceptable? Have we so easily forgotten Sodam and Gamora? (I’m not sure I spelled that right, it’s been a long day.) Also, why do we become enraged at child abuse or the murder of an innocent little blue-eyed, blond haired 5-year little girl, but few think twice about saying abortion is okay…it’s the woman’s right to choose. I really get enraged to hear the news, tv shows, and people talk about fetus’s….Come on people….ITS MURDER!!!

okay…enough of my babbling….I just had some thoughts that I wanted to share with you.

Bro. Click, it was such a great pleasure to have you as our guest speaker at Homecoming services. We really enjoyed seeing you and JoAnne again.

Yours in Christ,
Kimberly

30 11 2007
kclick

Hi Kimberly,

JoAnn and I really enjoyed being with all of you.

Ken

BTW:

KJV Mark 13:10 And the gospel must first be published among all nations.

KJV Matthew 24:14 And this gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in all the world for a witness unto all nations; and then shall the end come.

The word “published” (Mark 13:10) and “preached” (Matthew 24:14) are from the same Greek root word “kerusso” which means 1) to be a herald, to officiate as a herald 1a) to proclaim after the manner of a herald 1b) always with the suggestion of formality, gravity and an authority which must be listened to and obeyed 2) to publish, proclaim openly: something which has been done 3) used of the public proclamation of the gospel and matters pertaining to it, made by John the Baptist, by Jesus, by the apostles and other Christian teachers.

The exact meaning of these verses is not as simple as some suppose.

Some take them to mean that the message of salvation in Jesus must be translated into each living language and tribal dialect on the planet before the end can come.

Others see a difference between the message of salvation in Jesus and the “gospel of the kingdom”. They say it will be fulfilled during the tribulation period by special “heralds” or preachers during that time.

KJV Revelation 14:6 And I saw another angel fly in the midst of heaven, having the everlasting gospel to preach unto them that dwell on the earth, and to every nation, and kindred, and tongue, and people, 7 Saying with a loud voice, Fear God, and give glory to him; for the hour of his judgment is come: and worship him that made heaven, and earth, and the sea, and the fountains of waters.

30 11 2007
Kimberly

Thanks Bro. Click. I will study these scriptures and post my thoughts at a later time. Have a great weekend!

God Bless You!
Kimberly

Leave a Reply

