Unshakable Faith

19 01 2008

 “Then Job arose, and rent his mantle, and shaved his head, and fell down upon the ground, and worshipped,  And said, Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.  In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly” (Job 1:20-22).

Job had something we all need: an unshakable faith. He believed in and continued to worship God even while his world fell apart.

How weak we are today. Just think how easily we get discouraged and loose heart. Just think how delicate and emotional we all tend to be. Christians are so fragile today that I run the risk of offending someone simply by mentioning these things.

Oh, how we need Christians that don’t “fall apart” when ill winds blow.

I’m praying and striving to be that kind of Christian. I’m asking God to help me put Him above all things. I’m asking God to crush to death that prideful spirit in me that gets its feelings hurt so easily and then goes around “offended.”  I’m asking God to help me be a strong yet humble servant with no motives beyond being faithful to Him.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 01 2008
gwberry

you hurt my feelings (picture tears), my inner self and oprah say I deserve to be happy no matter what. just kidding i desire this attitude as well,great post!

19 01 2008
theepiphany

“Oh, how we need Christians that don’t “fall apart” when ill winds blow.” – Very true. In fact, 1 Cor. 13 says that Love is “not easily offended.” We do tend to take so many things way more personally than necessary. I know I do. Thanks for this reminder.

24 01 2008
svd2thabne

Great Post! We can learn a lot from men like Job, Joseph and Jesus….I had to get the alliteration! 🙂

14 04 2008
lisaoflongbourn

What did that worship look like? What did Job say or do? I don’t know that I even have a concept of worship in that intense and determined aspect – even when I’m having a good day and life. Can God be worshiped with tears?
To God be all glory,
Lisa of Longbourn

Leave a Reply

