The Solution to the Problem

16 03 2010

I really like the way the Contemporary English Version handles verses 3 and 4 in the book of Jude:

“My dear friends, I really wanted to write you about God’s saving power at work in our lives. But instead, I must write and ask you to defend the faith that God has once for all given to his people.  Some godless people have sneaked in among us and are saying, ‘God treats us much better than we deserve, and so it is all right to be immoral.’ They even deny that we must obey Jesus Christ as our only Master and Lord. But long ago the Scriptures warned that these godless people were doomed.”

My Christian background is of the King James Version tradition. Not the King James Only type, but more of the King James First camp. However, over the last several years I’ve become more appreciative of other translations of the scripture. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the King James Bible, but that old King James English can blunt the impact of some very clear statements God has given us.

Take this passage in Jude; it is so simple and strong. We can’t always do the things we might want to do (like write about God’s saving power at work in us) when something more vital needs to be addressed. What could be more vital than God’s saving power? Jude is convinced that at least one thing is: the defense of the faith.

Jude is not speaking of faith in the sense of that living, individual and/or community experience of God in one’s personal life. No, he is talking about “the faith” as that body of truths and teachings which form the foundation and essence of Christianity. He is talking about defending what we know as Christian doctrine.

It was under attack then as it is now. It was important then as it is now. It was defended then as it must be now. Doctrine is not the problem; it is the solution to the problem.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 03 2010
Lillie

I love how you write with such passion and vigor. I also love reading other translations of the Bible. My heart is with the King James, but when I can find/be given another translation to a verse or passage I am thankful if it sheds light to what I am trying to comprehend.

25 03 2010
souldose

You’re a beautiful writer, honestly I didn’t even know there are other bible translations, I thought a bible is a bible is a bible

Leave a Reply

